I’m still reading “The Infinite Sea”, by Rick Yancey, and I have to say I’m loving it even more.  In all honesty I’ve never been the most avid reader, only really reading when I was assigned books at school, but I’ve had an extremely hard time putting this book down.  I don’t think I’ve enjoyed anything this much since I read the Hunger Games series back in middle school.

One thing I’ve noticed that really keeps in invested is Yancey’s style of writing.  He keeps his chapters extremely short– limiting them to only a few pages– and breaks the book up into mini books.  Each mini book is told from a different characters’ point of view, which gives us insight on what each character is thinking.  I like this idea, as it lets us get to know each character on a more personal level versus just having one main narrator that we learn about.  The short chapters pair well with the different point of views, as it keeps the story moving.  Stalemate in a book is something that always causes me to loose interest, so I really am hooked with Yancey’s style.

Yancey also never fails to surprise us.  Since the last name I checked in on here, there’s been a bunch of plot twists.  I guess the biggest is the fact that Evan is alive.  I was honestly really shocked, because I was positive he was dead.  There was no way he could’ve survived the explosion from the end of the first book.  When I started reading the mini book in his point of view I thought it was Ben narrating originally.  I’m not sure I fully trust Evan as a character yet, seeing as he lied to Cassie for awhile in the first book and then attacks Ben, Poundcake, and almost Sam, just to see Cassie.  I mean he used the excuse that he didn’t want them to shoot him, but I don’t know it just seems a little off to me.  It’s also crazy to see how much silencers, aka the aliens in human bodies, can take in terms of being wounded.  Evan was able to withstand so much before he finally became completely human, and it makes me wonder what exactly these aliens are made up of.  Like what special capabilities do their bodies have that allow them to heal from the impossible?

A part of the reading the really stuck out to me was when Cassie was explaining how the old her is gone.  Her and Ben are no longer the bright eyed kids they were a few months ago in high school, but instead essentially emotionless fighters.  I feel like this is a common theme within dystopian books– the characters undergoing a transformation similar to Cassie and Ben.  But I was thinking that maybe it isn’t just limited to dystopian books, but spans to anyone who’s undergone a traumatic event.  When your life is flipped upside down and all the hope is sucked from you, is it possible to be your old self?  Can one stay optimistic when life keeps beating them down?

