befunkyphoto-5

In the poem “Ulysses”, by Tennyson, the idea of never giving up is discussed.  Tennyson, through Ulysses, states that no matter how old you get you have to stay mentally strong and keep pushing yourself.  The quote I connect the most with is when he states, “To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield”.  The reason I connect with this quote because determination is one of the attributes I value most.  It’s something that I’ve always lived my life by, as I never give up no matter how hard things get.  I reach for the stars, setting high goals for myself, and work until I achieve them.  It’s not always easy, but nothing truly worth it is supposed to be easy.  Quitting isn’t an option for me, because I’d rather something take a hundred times for me to get, than to give up after the third try.  I’m always challenging myself to do better and pushing my limits.  I want to be the best I can be, which I know will come from trying new things and setting new goals.  The only way I can achieve them is by never giving up, trying until I get it right.  Determination and striving for higher goals are key to me and values I’ll continue to live my life by.

