Awesome Things I Enjoy

  1. Finding out it’s Friday when you went half the day thinking it was Thursday
  2. Taking your hair down after it’s been in a ponytail all day
  3. Having your dogs be excited when you come home
  4. Your favorite song playing on the radio on the way to school
  5. Snuggling up with tea and a warm blanket on a cold day
  6. There being no line at Starbucks
  7. Having a good hair day
  8. Finding a really great new show on Netflix
  9. Running into your friends at a random location
  10. Petting a stranger’s dog
  11. Taking a nap after a really long day at school
  12. The smell of vanilla
  13. A warm, sunny day

My favorite “awesome thing” that I enjoy from my list is snuggling up with tea and a warm blanket on a cold day.  It’s a simple pleasure for sure, but it’s something  I look forward to every freezing or rainy day.  After a never ending day at school, frozen from the cold, the heat hits me as I walk inside my house.  I make sure to remove my boots, drenched from the rain, before walking into the kitchen.  Once in the kitchen I walk over and get my favorite pink mug from the hard-to-reach top cupboard, filling it with water from the refrigerator.  While it’s warming up in the microwave, I grab a green tea teabag from the box in the pantry, setting it in the mug once the microwave beeps, telling me the water is warm enough for tea.  I take my mug and walk into the living room, grabbing my favorite fuzzy gray blanket on the way, and plop down on the couch, wrapping myself so tightly in the blanket that not an ounce of cold air can touch me.  I sip my steaming green tea, my body warming instantly.  The blanket acts as insulation, keeping the heat my body gained from the tea inside of me.  The warm tea and fuzzy blanket are a nice contrast to the harsh cold and pouring rain from outside.  I smile in content, looking out the window, watching the raindrops fall from the sky and trickle down the window.

rainy-day-tea

My Bucket List

  1. Go skydiving
  2. Travel the world
  3. Pet a kangaroo
  4. Ride a segway
  5. Meet a celebrity
  6. Try pasta from Italy
  7. Watch the Olympics in person
  8. Ride a jetski
  9. Go snowboarding
  10. Go parasailing
  11. Have a pet bearded dragon

1036_66240_md_skydiving-1

Being authentic is one of the most important things in life.  There’s only one of you and there’s no reason to waste even half of a second trying to be somebody else.  Embrace yourself for all you are and love that person.  To me, being authentic means being you.  Whether it be the best version, or still needing some work, be that person.  Being authentic isn’t about being perfect.  The fact of the matter is nobody’s perfect.  Everyone is going to have little flaws in one way or another.  Anyone you might perceive as perfect, isn’t.  And if they say they are, then they’re not being authentic.  Authentic essentially means original.  If you’re copying someone else, then that’s not original.  Better yet, that’s not you.  No matter what your flaws are, at the end of the day they’re part of what makes you you.  All of the good and all of the bad inside of you come together to form one entirely unique individual, which there will never be another one entirely like.  Being authentic is something you should never apologize for.  Don’t tone yourself down to please others.  Own who you are and that’s what will truly make you authentic.  There’s no need to apologize or change who you are, because it’s these things that make you you.  Every little intricate detail about your personality- your favorite color, your fears, your favorite hobby- are all unique to you.  Embracing these is what ables you to be authentic.  It’s something I’ve always been determined to live by.  I don’t try to hide my flaws- I accept them as well as the good things about myself.  There’s no one else out there like me or you and the only way to be truly authentic is to welcome and respect that.

 

